NTMWD Annual Report Shares Successes and Challenges Overcome during Fiscal Year 2021

WYLIE, TX – Feb. 28, 2022:  The North Texas Municipal Water District (NTMWD) released its Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2020-2021 sharing numerous accomplishments as it continues to deliver vital water, wastewater and solid waste services in the North Texas region. All services continued without interruption despite the ongoing global pandemic, the historic winter storm, and an increasing population of the 2,200 square-mile area served by NTMWD.

“We continue our more than 70-year commitment of regional service through unity,” said NTMWD Board President Phil Dyer. “This report highlights the extraordinary achievements of our dedicated employees in the face of numerous challenges, and shares the investments needed to ensure these critical services are available around the clock for the two million North Texans who rely on us to be good stewards of these resources.”

The year began with a major milestone to serve our growing population with the start of construction on the Sister Grove Regional Water Resource Recovery Facility, located on a 1,000-acre site east of McKinney. This new facility will serve some of the fastest growing cities in the northern part of our regional wastewater system. In the Spring, NTMWD began to impound (capture water) in 16,641-acre footprint of Bois d’Arc Lake. It is the first major reservoir in Texas in more than 30 years and necessary to prepare for the future growth of our service area. In May, the NTMWD Board of Directors selected the District’s newest executive director and general manager, Jenna Covington.

“I continue to be honored to lead this team of dedicated professionals providing critical safe, reliable water, wastewater and solid waste services to our region,” said Covington. “We are in a strong financial and organizational position, and I am confident in the District’s ability to meet our responsibilities for the millions of North Texans counting on us today and in the future.”

Download the Fiscal Year 2020-2021 Annual Report.

Media Contact:
Wayne Larson, Director of Communications