NTMWD Solid Waste System Honored for Safety Results at Annual Conference

At the 2022 Texas Lone Star Chapter of the Solid Waste Association of North America (TxSWANA) Annual Conference in April, the NTMWD Solid Waste System was awarded a certificate of achievement in solid waste safety for the TxSWANA Jimmy Huff Safety Award.

Established in 1997, the Jimmy Huff Award recognizes the organization (public or private) that has achieved the most significant improvements in workplace safety from one year to the next. The award is presented annually to the voluntary TxSWANA member participant whose application shows the largest reduction in time lost due to work-related injury or illness from one year to the next.

For the fiscal year 2020 , the 121 Regional Disposal Facility had zero incidents resulting in lost work days, and in fiscal year 2021, NTMWD again had zero incidents with lost work days. As is difficult to improve upon zero incidents, the certificate of achievement was awarded to recognize NTMWD staff for their ongoing workplace safety efforts. The NTMWD Solid Waste team strive to keep the streak going.


from left to right: Mike Friesen, NTMWD Assistant Deputy Solid Waste; Jeff Mayfield, NTMWD Deputy Director Solid Waste & Integrated Services; John Plowman, Municipal Specialist at McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing (sponsor of the Jimmy Huff Safety Award); David Vartian Sanitation Superintendent at City of University Park and the TxSWANA Safety Management and Resource Team (SMART) Committee Chair; and Logan Martin Regional Sales Manager with McNeilus Truck and Manufacturing.